I’d heard of some interesting projects in Mutur, not far form Eachilanpattai. As I was not using the van, I took the one-hour ferry from the Trinco port over.  I arrived at the port at 7.45 to get the 8.45 ferry over. Petr had neglected to tell me that I required a passport to go though customs. Full of military, police and navy officers inspecting IDs and bags, I began to break into a bit of a sweat. I knew I had no time to go back to the residence to get the passport. I also had given my driving licence over to Tony (our car rental man form Mount Lavinia)! I was kind of stuck. As it was coming to my turn to go though immigration, I started to rummage though my wallet trying to find something to prove who I was…

For some reason I stillhad by Bradford University library card from 2003 with a picture of a 23 year old, fresh-faced Logan. I thought it was worth a gamble to not miss out on a day’s shooting.  After explaining my long name to them and inspecting the photos they asked for my passport number. I confidently pointed at the library card number. They noted it down and that was it, I was on the boat!


Just an hour later, I was at this place which had a very different feeling to it. Much more laid back and less of a military presence.  Here Petr had organised for me to meet Musfeek. He used to work for PIN in the Muttor office. He was a small thin man of 27, had slicked back hair, and was smartly dressed in a t-shirt and jeans.  He was now unemployed and was applying for another job with the INGOs. His brother was the only person from that region in the air force so it was a great honour for him and his family. The other brother worked in construction in Trinco.


He has an excellent understanding of English and also worked out what my project was trying to say. He took me to a few big INGO sites including a school by MMGS architects called Arafa Nagar Muslim school and to a Emergency Architects housing project. The school was very different from the other projects I’d seen. It didn’t have those heavy pillars or lumps of concrete hanging off it but more a delicate approach. It had fine frames on the windows without glass so it had flowing ventilation. The pitched roof overhung the walkways from the classrooms.  There were strategically placed trees to provide shade as well.

I also photographed a small bridge for AmeriCares this joined Mutur to Nagar.

We then moved to the coast to a small place just by the port called Thana Nagar. I found a very interesting fishing storage hut, which, in itself is not very interesting, but the homeless family that used it as their dwelling were. They had constructed an extension on the back. This was made from sheets of corrugated roofing, salvaged from surrounding homes. It had a stick frame, and for privacy the walls were covered in palm leaves. This was their kitchen.

It was interesting to see the bright blue rendering of the fishing hut constructed by an international government organisation and then the hand made structure merging with the concrete. I started to photograph this with new thoughts in mind of how people adapt to suit habitats and environments.  The changed intertextures and the use of gathered materials made this normally dull block of a building individual.

