I got up and headed to a market that had been set up for the local traders and designed by MMGS architects. This was a concrete base structure with an elevated steel section to create a breeze flowing though the market. The roof had reflective panels to defuse the head.

There was a fish section to the market, as well as meat and vegetable and clothes. There had been a new post office put here to try and get more local people to use the new facility.  I’m not sure how well this worked really because the fishermen were pushed to the back because their produce smelt and they said they didn’t get any customers. I’m not sure how you can resolve a problem like that I think it might be best not to combine fresh meets with vegetables and clothing!!


This was quite a short visit because I had to be at Palm Beach to meet Dr Francesca. I’d been waiting about 15 minutes when Royal turned up and said he had come in her place because when was busy interviewing a prisoner. I found out that this prisoner was a one legged murderer and she had been trying to interview him for months and had a window in the morning were she could get access.  Strange. Apparently he had a problem with his prophetic!


Royal and I sat chatting when eventually she turned up. A very petite half Sri Lankan half American with touch of a flakey voice and very airy-fairy. He had a PHD in anthropology and was doing some projects on how the NGS had gone about their work and how effective it had been.

I then headed to an MMGS school in Annoria Kuchareli. It was placed right on the sea font with two main buildings running parallel to each other and the first level walkway running in between them with view of the sea. The children were really friendly, very interested in what I was doing and also very keen to help. I nominated one small boy to do my assisting and holding my lenses. In the end he shared this job with his friend and I had one assistant for carrying and holding and another for passing me them while I changed lenses.


We moved on up to a fishing storage unit in the north. We took the north coast road up to where we came across a ferry. We ditched the car and made the small trip over the creek. The ferry wasn’t much more then a raft powered by one outboard motor, but it still manages to carry tractors and lorries on it. For some reason the motor was only on one side. This didn’t seem to hamper their navigation, apart form when we came in to the ‘port’: a small concrete slip way where everyone had to move to the back of the boat so it would tip up and the canter-lever doors would come down. Judging by the state of the doors it looked like they taken quite a while to master the technique. They were bent out of shape and corroded down to the bare structure.

